In May this year, 10 New Zealand athletes and teams were gifted fundraising chocolate grants worth $20,000 each to help them achieve their Commonwealth Games dreams.

Now, Cadbury and the New Zealand Olympic Committee are delighted to announce that all of the 10 Chocolate Grant recipients have been selected to represent New Zealand at the 2010 Commonwealth Games this October.

The Cadbury Chocolate Grant recipients selected for Delhi are:
• Rebecca Wardell – Athletics, Heptathlon
• Joseph Parker – Boxing
• Stas Chalaev – Weightlifting
• The `Tri Star Lads` – Men`s Artistic Gymnastics
• Kirstin & Caitlin Anderson – Synchronised Swimming
• Melissa Ingram – Swimming
• Elizabeth Lamb – Athletics, High Jump
• Donna Haliday – Badminton
• New Zealand Women`s Team – Table Tennis
• Shane Archbold – Cycling

The athletes have used their $20,000 Cadbury Chocolate Grant funds for a range of activities to assist their Commonwealth Games preparations, including travel to international competitions and training camps, equipment, coaching and physical therapy.

Cadbury New Zealand Managing Director, Matthew Oldham, says, “We launched the Cadbury Chocolate Grants because we wanted to make a real difference for these Kiwi athletes and help them achieve their dreams of competing at the 2010 Commonwealth Games. We`re absolutely delighted to see all of our athletes and teams have made the New Zealand team.

“We`ve followed every stage of their preparation for the Games and will be cheering them on when they step up to compete in Delhi. We hope the support the Grants have provided will continue to spell sporting success for our athletes for years to come.”

Terry Daly, Commercial Director of the New Zealand Olympic Committee, adds, “Funding is critical for our sports people – it can mean the difference between achieving a place on the podium or even making it to the Games at all. We, along with the Grants athletes, are immensely grateful for Cadbury`s support.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here