Support your favourite café in New Zealand by voting for them to win a People’s Choice award in the 2018 Meadow Fresh New Zealand Café of the Year competition.

New to the 2018 competition, there will be a People’s Choice award winner in each of the 34 regions across the country. Competition will be fierce!

There’s a reason you love your local!

From the flat white they’re already creating for you as you enter the door, to the café owner who knows your dog by name or the delicious meal that gets you back every week.

The People’s Choice category is a firm favourite as it determines the most loved cafe’s around the country – as selected by YOU – the general public.

The 34 regional winners of a People’s Choice award will be?announced in December 2017. The café with the highest number?of public votes in the nation, will be announced the National People’s?Choice award winner at an event held in Auckland, February 2018?along with the 2018 Meadow Fresh Café of the Year.?Get voting for your local favourite: Voting closes 27 October.

Surf Shack, Joanne and Pippa Coombes

Surf Shack, Waihi Beach was awarded the 2017 Meadow Fresh New Zealand Café of the Year National People’s Choice award.

“It was an absolutely amazing experience for us and our café, especially just after our first year of trading. We went into the competition to gain feedback from our customers and it turned out to be one of the best things we have ever done! We had fantastic publicity from being the regional and then the National People’s Choice award winning cafe. The award has definitely elevated us as a destination café as well as being a local favourite – in fact we are now looking at opening for night service due to demand. Overall it has been a wonderful, rewarding and humbling experience,” said Pippa Coombes.


North Island: Northland. Auckland Inner City. Auckland Central. Auckland North. Auckland East. Auckland South. Auckland West. Waikato. Coromandel. Bay of Plenty. Eastland. Taupo. Taranaki. Wanganui. Rotorua. Ruapehu. Hawke’s Bay. Wairarapa. Wellington.

South Island: Marlborough. Nelson. Kaikoura. Canterbury. Christchurch. West Coast. Mount Cook. Cromwell. Dunedin. Otago. Southland. Wanaka. Queenstown. Fiordland.

For the sixth year running, the Meadow Fresh New Zealand Café of the Year awards seek to highlight the diverse, the delicious and most delightful of our great New Zealand café culture, shining a light on outstanding cafés across the nation.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here